Hi – have been inspired to share my thoughts after meeting Doris Chan today at the Knitting and Stitching show at Ally Pally in the UK.  This event always amazes me as there are so many great displays – not just the stalls – but the graduation shows from many wonderful artists.  I turned a corner and saw a knitted lampshade and stand cover which just made me smile!  Sadly I have forgotten the name of the creator of this loveliness – you know who you are!

Doris demo’d broomstick crochet to the crowd and patiently answered my question on ‘just how to do you shape the piece?’  As with all crochet (and possibly knitting) it’s all a question of maths.. which brings me back to why I’m doing this blog.   A few years ago I stumbled over the crochet reef on its world tour when it was at the Southbank Centre in London – I found out that it was started in Australia but really came about through research into ‘hyperbolic’ curves.   I then played about with this myself and came up with some interesting shapes – mostly scarves!

I hope to share my creations with you, and possibly some of the patterns of how I did them.  Expect a few amigurumis on the way as well – I came across these too and have been making them as festive decorations.

Keep hooking!

Daf

